The Official Website of the People’s Government of Hunan Province Mobile 中文 Français 한국어 日本語

15 July 2015

Home>News>Local News

Xie Zilong Photography Museum Wins Highest Architectural Award in Asia

2019-11-08 Download Print Comment
Prof. Wei Chunyu (3rd, R), designer of the Xie Zilong Photography Museum, receives a gold prize of the ARCASIA Awards for Architecture (AAA). 
The ARCASIA Awards for Architecture (AAA) 2019 awarding ceremony was held in Bangladesh recently. Xie Zilong Photography Museum, designed by Prof. Wei Chunyu from the School of Architecture, Hunan University, won a gold prize in the category of public amenity: social/institutional buildings.
Prof. Wei Chunyu is present at the ARCASIA Forum 2019 in Dhaka. 
The Architects Regional Council Asia (ARCASIA) was initiated by 10 Asian member Institutes of the Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA), and established in Jakarta, Indonesia, in 1979. The organization holds the following objectives : 
-- to unite National Institutes of Architects on a democratic basis throughout the Asian region;
-- to foster friendly, intellectual, artistic, educational and scientific ties; 
-- to foster and maintain professional contacts, mutual co-operation and assistance among member institutes; 
-- to represent architects of the member institutes at national and international levels; 
-- to promote the recognition of the architect's role in society; 
-- to promote the development and education of architects and the architectural profession in their service to society; and, 
-- to promote research and technical advancement in the field of the built environment.

The founding members were India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong. It has 21 member organizations. In addition to the founding members, the members include architect associations from Bangladesh, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, China, Japan, South Korea, Macao, Mongolia, Vietnam, Nepal, Laos, the Kingdom of Bhutan, Burma, and Brunei. 
The AAA 2019 was initiated by ARCASIA, in a bid to acknowledge exemplary architectural work in Asia, and promote development and improvement of the Asian built environment. It is the highest award of the organization, and also highest architectural design award in Asia. This year’s entries were divided into 10 types of 6 categories. Gold, honorable mention, and mention awards were presented for each type. 
Prof. Wei, at the invitation of the forum organizing committee, attended and gave a themed speech “A Type from Tradition” at the ARCASIA Forum 2019 Dhaka. 
This article is from Hunan Provincial Government
Translator: Pang Yuehui
Chinese source: